The APA@50 Symposium

A Half-Century of Policy and Planning in the Adirondack Park.

In June 1971 New York Governor Nelson Rockefeller signed legislation creating the Adirondack Park Agency. Join the ADKX on June 22 in a daylong webinar symposium assessing the APA’s half-century of guiding both management of the Forest Preserve and development on private land in the Adirondack Park. Keynote presentations by scholars and others closely involved with the APA will be followed by comments by other experts and dialog with our audience.

On Tuesday June 22, 2021, the Adirondack Experience posted a live virtual symposium to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Adirondack Park Agency.

Recorded Symposium Sessions

Session One: “The APA’s Early Years: Energy, Innovation, and Perspective”

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Featured speaker: Richard S. Booth, Department of City and Regional Planning, Cornell University, Former APA Counsel and Former APA Commissioner


  • Marilyn DuBois, Former Sr. Policy Analyst at New York State Assembly
  • Bill Kissell, Former APA Counsel
  • Liz Thorndike, Former APA Commissioner

Session Two: “Trail Blazin’: Reconstructing Wilderness in the Public Mind”

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Featured speaker: Elizabeth Vidon, Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies, SUNY-ESF


  • Heidi Kretser, Conservation Social Scientist, Wildlife Conservation Society
  • Peter Paine, Member of Temporary Study Commission on the Future of the Adirondacks and former APA Commissioner
  • John Sheehan, Adirondack Council

Session Three: “Regional Planning Today”

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Featured speaker: Frank Popper, Professor at the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, Rutgers University, and Visiting Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, High Meadows Environmental Institute, Princeton University


  • Peter Bauer, Executive Director, Protect the Adirondacks
  • Bill McKibben, Environmentalist and author
  • Lani Ulrich, Former APA Chair
  • William Farber, Chairman of the Hamilton County Board of Supervisors